Skip to main content

January 1, 2014

CWC student is selected as New Century Scholar

A Central Wyoming College student has been selected as Wyoming's New Century Scholar.

Caitlin Heryford of Lander is Wyoming's highest scoring student in the All-USA Academic Team/Coca-Cola All-State team competition. More than 1,700 applications were received for the awards from 900 community colleges.

Judges consider grades, leadership, activities and how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

As a member of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the international honorary of two-year colleges, Caitlin qualified to apply for the New Century Scholar award.  She will represent Wyoming at the 2014 American Association of Community Colleges annual convention in Washington, D.C., where the 52 New Century Scholars will be recognized. She will also receive a $2,000 stipend provided by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Heryford is almost finished with a pre-engineering degree at Central and has already been accepted to several universities, including the Colorado and Montana School of Mines, to complete a bachelor's degree in chemical and biological engineering.

The New Century Scholars program is sponsored annually by the American Association of Community Colleges, The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, and Phi Theta Kappa.

In the past decade, New Century Scholar Awards for Wyoming have gone to CWC students, including Rich Fleetwood, Chloe Skaggs, Brittany Barlow, and Amara Fehring.